Sankofa – Reflection

Standard

First of all I have to give a huge shout out to my life partner for all his support. I honestly couldn’t have done this without him! ❤ Always holding me down, I couldn't ask for more…

Today was my first time truly living the Bangkok experience. This place reminds me so much of New York! Big buildings, malls, the works. And the advantage of having US currency is clearly a huge factor here because seeing foreigners is very common.

I expected to be stared at and to feel uncomfortable at some point. Based on previous experience in Vietnam it seems many southeast Asians just haven't seen people with my complexion. There is only one black model anywhere on display and that's Beyonce's recent Pepsi ad. There are many European models, however, and most of the Thai models (men and women) are very light skinned. Nonetheless everyone seems to treat me as I would like to be treated, like anyone else. In fact, on the sky train today a bunch of kids were going nuts taking pictures and laughing hysterically because a white man and woman were on the train. They didn't seem to react the same way to me, interestingly enough.

The tuk-tuk is an experience I think anyone coming here needs to have and the driver was very excited to tell me about how much he loves Obama when I told him I am American 🙂

More to come tomorrow- pictures tonight!

3 responses »

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same
    comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

