The Rains…and the Cuties

Standard

mae sotThe rains have been flooding the entire city of Mae Sot. They began on Thursday and it is now Sunday. We pray they will soon stop. The water is already knee length and full of… well just about everything you’d never want to touch. Above is not my photo, but it was taken by another Mae Sotter and gives you idea of how today looked!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mae La Refugee Camp in the Mountains, North of Mae Sot… some curious children came out of the camp to look at what we were doing 🙂 Clearly conditions here are much worse than in other parts of Thailand.

Though it has not been easy: I work a 7-day week. 5 days at Love & Care and I work at Heavenly Home on the weekend–the children make every bead of sweat and sigh of fatigue worth my while. So far everything has been going wonderfully. A few photos the children to follow:

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

Little lady making ‘pepsi’ sign!                                     Adorable girl with a twin sister at the orphanage!        A few children posing! — little cutie on the right!

Anyways, I have made a few friends in Mae Sot–and hanging out with them has taken the edge off because before I’d often just come to my room and sleep without speaking to anyone after school. It also makes the reality that I am leaving in less than two weeks even more difficult to face. Though, I must admit, I miss the comforts of home. Namely one large comfort 🙂 and that’s my partner in crime Koto. On the bright side, Love & Care is organizing a going-away party for me next Tuesday and the kids will perform fungah (a dance from Ghana they’ve been learning) as well as Love and Care has been learning lamban (a dance from Mali/Senegal) which they also know! I am very excited for the performance and hopefully I will be able to make some mafe (West African peanut butter soup dish) to go along with the performance (SO DELISH)…but we’ll have to see on that one!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

More tomorrow! Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

